Words of Wisdom from Babs

Not about books, not about politics, just an outspoken, fun and admirable woman.

Barbara Bush turned 90 on June 8. TIME magazine ran an interview with her in their June 15 issue. A few snippets:

Q: Your husband jumped out of an airplane for his 90th. What’s your plan?

Not jumping out of an airplane. I am not an idiot.”

When asked what she’d say to her husband if he said he was going to jump again for his 95th birthday:

“Please land again in the churchyard. You know why I think that makes sense.”

Other wise words:

“I try not to give my daughters-in-law advice, so they will come visit with my sons.”

“Sometimes when someone asks me to do something I really don’t want to do, I can say ‘I might not be alive.’ It works.”

Leave a Reply

